Freaky looks on DHCP

I believe, you know DHCP (Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol) very well. Still here is a freaky look, explaining the same protocol, discussed by some of the members of group AL-007.

This blog is not meant for people, who are bit boring or scare to remember funny matters on what our earlier generations invented/discovered.

Below short note is meant for those, who look the world in different angle, unlike most of the people do.

Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol


Rajkishore:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 1:32 PM

Who discovered DHCP? I want to give him a big salute. It’s a nice example of “creativity”.

What I learned today from DHCP:
Client has to initiate ‘discover message’, then only some servers will reply back and client will choose only one ‘server’ with best matching rule.
Read the above sentence with below vocabulary ?

Vocabulary:
Client: Girls
Discover message: Smile
Server: Guys

RameshGee:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 1:59 PM

Hey don’t forgot, server also assigning lease time along with IP @…
So all are temporary… u have to  renew/rebind after some period … or else they will send release message da… mind it … 😉

Dasa & Harish,
Share ur views too… bcoz u guys having experience on DHCP rgt???

Rajkishore,
This is the good way to understand the new things man… keep it up…
see!!! we 3 people are worked on this protocol for long time… but that time we didn’t think like this… u r extremely good da…
If possible try to explain xSTP , RIP & OSPF features too.. it may helpful for us rgt? if you want any assist, pls feel free to contact Aravind. He is having sound idea on these…

Others,
Try to come out with ur plan.,
Lets we expand our tech knowledge towards network…?

Rajkishore:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 2:31 PM

U are rgt.. All r temporary… So we called ths as “Dynamic”.

Ya.. that’s why guys use to give some gifts like necklace, ring, dress or use to go for movie with her to continue of connectivity… 🙂

Well… Do u know what is the role of her friend (relay agent)??? It’s bit interesting. Isn’t it??

RameshGee :
Thursday, November 25, 2010 2:41 PM

Relay Agent is nothing but forming the connection between server and client if they are in different subnet…
In ur case, u r in one place & ur GF in another place. In this case, u may use her friend or others to delivery ur proposal rgt??
Now that fellow is called as Relay agent… got it??
See if you and ur GF in the same place [same subnet] then tat agent is not needed… 😉

Prabhu:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 2:48 PM

Also, as DHCP pkts are broadcast and routers (Girl’s parents) discard broadcast pkts.
Relay agents are mounted on routers to make the pkts unicast… 🙂

Rajkishore:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 3:32 PM

Dasa & RameshGee, nice to know on relay agent…
Okay… Btw do u know, what is Option82??

Jagannath:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 3:41 PM

Option82 is the exact details of the user.. Tat’s the salary, property and pay details! (I think RameshGee is very much aware of this right now!!!)

RameshGee:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 3:49 PM

Option82 Contains the details of Client. this is carried on clients packet only, not server-side packet…
U got it?? Or will explain elaborately??
Say example, u r planning to propose a girl. then at the time of proposing you should share ur complete details- like packet money, bike details, car details, employment details, monthly income, and etc etc…
Then she will compare those things with her matching criteria. if it’s matches then she will send offer to u without her details [i.e Option82].
So option82 is the important part for discovery… got it???

Prabhu:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 3:52 PM

One of the option available in DHCP pkts that is used by relay agent to describe its location to the server …it has two sub-options…
Circuit ID –    This sub-option MAY be added by DHCP relay agents which terminate switched or permanent circuits.  It encodes an agent-local identifier of the circuit from which a DHCP client-to-server packet was received.
Remote ID –   This sub-option MAY be added by DHCP relay agents which terminate switched or permanent circuits and have mechanisms to identify the remote host end of the circuit

[Referenced from RFC]

RameshGee:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 4:07 PM

Okay…
Circuit ID is nothing but Physical ID : you should explain ur body condition and horse power… 😉
Remote Id is nothing but Relay Agent ID [customer Id in ISAM] : Relay Agent will make the circuit connection b/w u and her…
Got it …???
Note :- Ays & Sas already knew abt this… so I have removed those girls from loop… 😉

Rajkishore:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 4:10 PM

Oops… do we really need Remote ID? Can u explain more on this???

RameshGee:
Thursday, November 25, 2010 4:21 PM

Mamu… Remote ID is very helpful for server to identify the client da…
See!!! Suppose if u proposed to ur GF via her friend [Relay agent] and u gave some time to think, then she has to communicate her result to u rgt? that time wht she will do, she will directly contact tht relay agent [her friend] and convey the message to u. am I rgt?? that is called as Remote-ID

Thu 11/25/2010
Participant: AL-007

47 thoughts on “Freaky looks on DHCP

  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent weblog. I stumbled on it on Yahoo , i will come back once once again. Funds and independence is the very best approach to change, could you be wealthy and aid other men and women.

  2. I think this is among the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  3. A powerful share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a bit of evaluation on this. And he the truth is purchased me breakfast because I discovered it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I feel strongly about it and love studying more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with extra details? It’s extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this weblog post!

  4. I’d have to examine with you here. Which isn’t one thing I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a publish that can make individuals think. Also, thanks for allowing me to remark!

  5. Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I would like to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and precise effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances seem to get one thing done.

  6. The following time I read a blog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I mean, I do know it was my option to learn, but I actually thought youd have one thing interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about one thing that you could possibly fix if you werent too busy looking for attention.

  7. I’m impressed, I must say. Really hardly ever do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me inform you, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the issue is something that not enough persons are talking intelligently about. I’m very pleased that I stumbled across this in my seek for one thing referring to this.

  8. This is the best blog for anybody who wants to find out about this topic. You notice a lot its nearly exhausting to argue with you (not that I truly would need…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Great stuff, simply great!

  9. I found your blog web site on google and verify just a few of your early posts. Continue to maintain up the very good operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Looking for forward to reading more from you afterward!…

    1. oh.. i surprised as u found it from google.. looking forward, i yet to add some other protocols from wire-line & wire-less domain with suitable life time example.. Thanks for subscribing me.. hope i ll nt mak u bore with my other topics like Philosophy & life experiences… cheers 🙂

  10. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  11. There are some attention-grabbing time limits in this article however I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There’s some validity however I’ll take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

  12. I must show my gratitude for your kindness for all those that need guidance on that area of interest. Your personal dedication to passing the solution all through had been astonishingly important and has surely permitted professionals like me to arrive at their dreams. Your new important guideline implies a lot to me and much more to my mates. Many thanks; from each one of us.

  13. Couldn?t be written any better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  14. I used to be very happy to seek out this internet-site.I wished to thanks to your time for this wonderful learn!! I undoubtedly enjoying each little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you weblog post.

  15. I discovered your blog website on google and check a couple of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the excellent operate. I simply additional up your RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking ahead to studying extra from you in a while!…

Leave a Reply

